The Yendi Municipal Assembly was established in 1988 by PNDC Law 207, Act 462, and LI 1443. The Municipal Assembly (MA) was elevated to a Municipality in 2007. The Municipality is one of the Forty (40) Municipal Assemblies in the country and the only Municipality in the Northern Region. The Municipality is the capital of the Dagbon Kingdom and the seat of the Ya -Na the Over Lord of Dagbon. The Yendi Municipality cut through by the Greenwich Meridian, which passes through a number of settlements in the Municipality.
The Municipality shares boundaries with eight other district, to the east with Saboba District, Zabzugu District and Tatale/ sangule district, to the south, with Nanumba and East Gonja, to the West, with Tamale metropolitan and Savelugu/Nanton municipal and to the north with Gushiegu district. The administrative capital of the municipality is Yendi.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 117,780 with 58,920 males and 58,860 females.

Feedback Statistics

; Leave feedback now
Feedback by Gender
Feedback by Sector
Feedback by Time


View all
  • Filename
  • File Type
  • Uploaded By
  • Date
  • File: Illustration
    Type: png
    Uploaded by: votoadmin
    Date: 17/11/2016


View all
  • Date
  • Feedback