Savelugu/Nanton Municipal was carved out of the then Western Dagomba District Council which comprised Tamale, Tolon and Savelugu. The municipal has its administrative capital at Savelugu. The municipal shares boundaries with Tolon Distirct and Kumbugu District to the west, Tamale Metropolis to the south and Yendi Municipal to the south-east.

The municipality was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2071 and shares boundaries with Karaga District to the East and West Mamprusi and Mamprugo/ Moaduri District to the North.
The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 139,283 with 67,531 males and 71,752 females.

Feedback Statistics

; Leave feedback now
Feedback by Gender
Feedback by Sector
Feedback by Time


View all
  • Filename
  • File Type
  • Uploaded By
  • Date
  • File: Illustration
    Type: png
    Uploaded by: votoadmin
    Date: 17/11/2016


View all
  • Date
  • Feedback